Mississippi Democratic Party
The Party of Progress
IMG_3156-2560x1600.jpg

County Committee

COUNTY DEMOCRATIC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES

 

Mississippi Democratic Party — County Committee Contacts

Adams County — Robert Pernell — 601-334-7225,  robeperne@aol.com

 Alcorn County — Tom Sweat — 662-415-8682, tsweatjr@bellsouth.net

Amite County — Rosie Wilson — 601-645-6467, rosiewilson1972@gmail.com

Attala County —Stennis Thompson — attalademocrats@gmail.com

Benton County — Will Stone — 662-587-5616, 662-229-6211, wjstone@me.com

Bolivar County — James Robinson — 662-719-4544, moseshoes@aol.com

Calhoun County — Marshall W. Coleman — 662-816-6031, marshall.coleman@tds.net

Carroll County — George Johnson — 662-283-5208, mcbridecharley@yahoo.com

Chickasaw County — Mary Graham — 662-542-8694, Marygraham97@yahoo.com

Claiborne County — Roosevelt Yarbrough — 601-748-0893, roosyarbrough@yahoo.com

Clarke County — Nellie Green — 601-776-250-4601, 480-1295, ellalyoung@aol.com

Clay County — Bessie "Pat" Cannon — 662-494-5968, BessieCannon778@yahoo.com

Coahoma County — Ray Sykes — 662-645-7783, 662-621-9005, oinotyar@yahoo.com

Copiah County — Daphne Foster — 601-954-2617, 404-660-6438, 601-954-7783, dgfoster31@yahoo.com

Covington County — Charles Beasley — 601-765-4214, 601-517-0455, charlesobeasley@yahoo.com

Desoto County  Harold Harris — 901-833-5028, harris.harold@gmail.com

Forrest County — Sherry Dryden — 601-310-8776, jsdryden@gmail.com

Franklin County — Juanita M. Brown — 601-384-5240 — juanita35@ftcweb.net

Grenada County — Jennifer Adams — blessedattorney@gmail.com

Hancock County — Bruce Northridge — 228-363-0793, bruce.northridge@yahoo.com

Harrison County — Felix Gines — 228-669-1666, ginesfor2@gmail.com

Hinds County — Jacqueline R. Amos — 601-213-8018, jnorris@mississippidemocrats.org

 Holmes County — Leroy Johnson — 662-834-2737, 601-278-2140, ljoh677147@aol.com

Humphreys County — Joyce McNair — 662-247-2295, 662-836-7846, joycemcnair48@yahoo.com

Issaquena County — Peggy Thomas — 662-873-2061, peggthomas21@yahoo.com

Itawamba County — Ty Brown — 662-523-5556, tybrown@netscape.net

Jackson County — Robert G. Smith — 228-218-9371, 228-218-9371, wetpalette@live.com

Jasper County — Marcelean Arrington — 601-670-5153, 601-764-2071, marcearr@bayspringstel.net

Jefferson County — Albert Z. Johnson, Jr. — 601-443-1796, 601-443-1796, albertzjohnson52@yahoo.com

Jefferson Davis County — Nadine Thompson — 601-943-5744, 601.270.9956, nthompson@windstream.net

Jones County — Trey Chinn — 601-422-7315, treywchinn@gmail.com

Kemper County — Charles Hollingsworth — cch100percent@yahoo.com

Lafayette County — Cristen Hemmins — 662-281-8503, 662-801-5357, 662-236-1700, cristenh@watervalley.net

Lamar County - Stacey Sims — Stacey@simsandre.com

 Lamar County — Amy Adelman -601-268-6605, 601-544-8291, michaeladel45@aol.com

Lauderdale County — Stephen Wilson — 601-693-5548, 601-490-2440, michaeladel45@aol.com

Lawrence County — Wanda Day — 601-587-7834 

Leake County — Lyvonne LeFlore — 601-267-7577, lyvonne.leflore@yahoo.com

Lee County — Jamie Franks — 662- 401-9183, jfranks@wheelerfrankslaw.com

Leflore County — Robert Sims — 662-453-2665, 662-466-2465, simsrobert585@yahoo.com

Lincoln County — Helen Funk — 601-835-5078, 601-695-4728, 601-835-3435 

Lowndes County — Leroy Brooks — 662-251-8125, lclbrooks@bellsouth.net

Madison County — Howard Brown — 662-816-9408, hbrown@legal-counselors.net

Marion County — Darrick McGowan — 504-231-7755, 601-736-1755, 504-231-7763, dmcgowan75@yahoo.com

Marshall County — Kent Falkner — 662-564-2432, kftmemphis@aol.com

Monroe County — Bobby G. Sacus — 601-260-3857, bobby.sacus@yahoo.com

Montgomery County — Hazel Dorris — dorris522001t@yahoo.com

Neshoba County — Debra Henson — 601-663-8831, obbieriley@bellsouth.net

Newton County — Ralph Jordan — 601-616-4218, mrrjordan58@yahoo.com

Oktibbeha County — Albert Gore Jr. — 662-694-1782, andbgorejr@earthlink.net

Oktibbeha County — John Young — 662-341-2540

Panola County — Lourine Robinson — 662-934-1847, rinerobinson@yahoo.com

Pearl River County — Agnes Dalton — 601-746-6020, rockman1935@aol.com

Perry County — Donald McAlpin — 601-598-2727, donmcalpin60@yahoo.com

Pike County — Etta Taplin — 601-551-6604, edtaplin@gmail.com

Pontotoc County — Daniel Hill — 662-489-9832 

Prentiss County — Linn Lambert — 662-416-6485, bllambert@frontiernet.net

Quitman County — Terry Blackburn — 662-292-0512, terryflash2@yahoo.com

Rankin County — Ryan Brown — 601-761-0755, rankincountydemocrats@gmail.com

Scott County — Carolyn E. Knowles — 601-469-1861, cseknowles1@bellsouth.net

Sharkey County — Ezell A. Williams — 662-873-6292, 662-873-6292, ezellawilliams@yahoo.com

Simpson County — George Jackson — 601-382-9805, eloise_jackson@yahoo.com

Smith County — Queen E. Williams — 601-789-5299, 630-605-2439, estherwilliamson27@yahoo.com

Stone County — Andrew Beamon — 601-716-5136, abeamon69@yahoo.com

Sunflower County — David Rushing — 662-931-6800, sunflowerdems@gmail.com

Tallahatchie County — Bennie Paige — 662-752-9249, benniepaigejr@yahoo.com

Tate County — Sandra Jamison — 662-560-4534, shjamison@hotmail.com

Tippah County — Connie Waldon — 662-587-9131, connie.waldon@yahoo.com

Tishomingo County — Richard Bowen

Tunica County — Mildred Conley — 662-278-4277, mildredpconley@gmail.com

Union County — Nervelle Ward —  662-998-2505, 662-539-1188, nervelle@yahoo.com

Walthall County, Gregory Armstrong — garmstrong2@bellsouth.net

Warren County — Chris Cummins — 601-456-3376, christopher.lee.cummins@gmail.com

Washington County — Derrick Simmons — 662-820-5885, 662-616-0224, EDsimmons@simmonspllc.com

Wayne County — John Jordan — 601-671-8737, 217-741-3077, jordan0117@aol.com

Webster County — Vickey Patterson — 662-352-1337, vickey.patterson@gmail.com

Winston County — Brenda Johnson — 662-803-9715, brendajj54@yahoo.com

Yalobusha County — Butler McLeod — 662-473-1159 — butlermcleod@aol.com

Yazoo County — Joe Thomas, Jr. — 662-571-1603, — joethomas75@gmail.com

 

COUNTY COMMITTEE DUTIES:

 

I. BUILD THE PARTY AT THE GRASSROOTS LEVEL

  • ASSIST IN ESTABLISHING MUNICIPAL DEMOCRATIC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES
  • ASSIST IN ESTABLISHING A COUNTY FEDERATION OF DEMOCRATIC WOMEN CHAPTER
  • ASSIST IN ESTABLISHING YOUNG DEMOCRATIC CHAPTERS AT SCHOOL AND AT-LARGE
  • REGISTER VOTERS
  • COOPERATE WITH DEMOCRATIC ELECTED OFFICIALS
  • MOBILIZE VOTERS AND ENCOURAGE INVOLVEMENT
  • WRITE LETTERS TO THE EDITOR AND WORK WITH NEWS MEDIA TO PROMOTE VISIBILITY
  • MAINTAIN COMMUNICATION WITH DEMOCRATIC ACTIVISTS AND SUPPORTERS

II. CONDUCT REGULAR PARTY RELATED EVENTS – such as:

  • ANNUAL GREENS & BEANS
  • FORUMS / DEBATES  
  • COMMUNITY EVENTS
  • VOTER REGISTRATION DRIVES

III. MANAGE PARTY ORGANIZATION (REQUIRED BY PARTY CONSTITUTION)

  • CONDUCT PRECINCT CAUCUSES AND COUNTY CONVENTION
  • MEET AT LEAST ONCE PER MONTH
  • CONDUCT PARTY AFFAIRS IN THE COUNTY

IV. REPORT TO STATE COMMITTEE

  • REPORT PRECINCT CAUCUS AND COUNTY CONVENTION RESULTS
  • REPORT COUNTY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP AND OFFICERS

V. SUPPORT PARTY NOMINEES IN GENERAL ELECTIONS

  • ORGANIZE COUNTY CAMPAIGN EFFORTS TO GET OUT THE VOTE
  • COORDINATE EFFORTS WITH STATE COMMITTEE
  • DISTRIBUTE SAMPLE BALLOTS

VI. CONDUCT PRIMARY ELECTIONS (REQUIRED BY STATE LAW)

  • RECEIVE QUALIFYING FORMS AND FEES
  • CERTIFY CANDIDATES FOR NOMINATION
  • PREPARE ELECTION MATERIALS
  • HIRE AND TRAIN POLL WORKERS
  • ISSUE AND RECEIVE ELECTION MATERIALS
  • CANVASS AND CERTIFY ELECTION RESULTS
  • HEAR ELECTION CONTESTS